top of page

The Arteful Dodger


OVER-G. OVER-G.


“That’s getting real annoying Dodger!”


I focused on my breathing, tense my legs. Breath, hold, two seconds, breathe. The edges of my vision blurred, a shadow wrapping its cold fingers around my face, straining every muscle in my face to just keep conscious for another second.


The missile flew right by, left hand side, hit one of the flares that had been launched forward as I had turned.


“We’re good we’re good! Get back on him!”


I rolled the craft over, reversed my turn, came back on the bandit that had snuck onto my tail. I could see him above me, engaging in a one circle with me. I had the advantage, F/A-18, one circle dog fight, match made in heaven. He began loosing flares as the green circle of my visor sat over the small craft, trying to speed away from my ever-encroaching nose.


“Tone… Gimmie Tone…”


“You got him Dodge you got him!”


“I GOT TONE!” I dropped the missile off my right wing, rolled left to give it clearance. The AIM-132 boosted away from the jet at Mach 3, right into the engine of the SU-27.


“Fox-2 Fox-2!”


“Splash!”


The jet tumbled down to the wasteland below, another grave added to the aftermath of the dogfight. I calmed my breathing as I levelled out, my WSO laughing in the back.


“We’re good Arty, we’re good.”


“Good? That makes you an ACE dodge!”


“Haha, we’ll see how long that lasts. Claymore-1, we are Bingo, RTB.”


I turned the jet towards the deep blue of the sky, and blasted off into the clouds floating above the ocean.

7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page